Composition of Expert Group on Abortion announced

Composition of Expert Group on Abortion announced

Press Release by the Pro Life Campaign

13th January 2012

Pro Life Campaign Says Expert Group on Abortion Presents Opportunity to Clarify Key Ethical Distinctions

The establishment by the Government of the Expert Group on abortion presents an opportunity to clarify important ethical distinctions in this area, the Pro Life Campaign (PLC) has said.

The Government this evening announced the members of the 14-member group from the medical, legal and nursing professions, in response to the A, B and C v. Ireland ruling on abortion from the European Court of Human Rights in 2010. The Expert Group will be chaired by Mr Justice Seán Ryan and has to report back to Government within six months with options on how to implement the judgment of the European Court.

In a statement responding to the announcement, spokesperson for the Pro Life Campaign, Dr Ruth Cullen said:

“The establishment of the expert group presents a genuine opportunity to re-affirm the ethical distinction between necessary medical interventions in pregnancy and induced abortion, which intentionally targets the life of the baby.

“Pro-choice activists are falsely claiming that Ireland is obliged to introduce abortion following the European Court of Human Rights decision. In reality, the court recognised the right of the Irish people to decide on the issue.

“It is also of critical importance that the new expert group take account of the latest peer-reviewed research, published in leading periodicals, which highlights the negative psychological effects of abortion for many women.”


The Composition of Expert Group on Abortion is as follows;

The Group will be chaired by Mr. Justice Seán Ryan and consist of thirteen other members;

Dr Peter Boylan, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Dr Mary Holohan, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Dr Imelda Ryan, Psychiatrist,

Dr Ailish Ni Riain, General Practitioner

Dr Mark Walsh, General Practitioner

Ms Christine O’Rourke, Office of the Attorney General

Ms Mary O’Toole, Senior Counsel

Ms Joanelle O’Cleirigh, Solicitor

Ms Denise Kirwin, Solicitor

Dr. Deirdre Madden, Medical Council

Dr Maura Pidgeon, An Bord Altranais

Dr Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health

Mr Bernard Carey, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health

You can access the Government Press Announcement here 

Share this